So i spent the weekend in Chicago and went to the Museum of Science and Industry (a fantastic museum by the way) where they are having a special exhibit on Dr Seuss. It’s $5 extra but honestly I would have paid the museum price plus that just for the exhibit. Its not even the best put together exhibit but the material they have on him and the way they present it is fantastic. After that exhibit I can honestly say that Dr. Seuss is my new hero. Reading his work as a kid I never really took the time to reflect on his work but looking back at it how he was a terrific humanitarian. But this is all beside the point I wanted to talk about. One perticular quote of his they had on a wall really stuck out to me. He said,

“I like nonsense. It wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living. It’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope. Which is what I do. And that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.”

I can’t stop thinking about how elegantly he phrased it. That is exactly how i feel about tv, movies, books and video games. The man really was ahead of his time and the world is a better place for had having him in it.