I’ve never been into videogames, or even games in general. I used to play Super Nintendo with my siblings and that’s about it. I can’t recall a time where I’ve been bored and decided to pick up a remote controller to play Zelda or Prince of Persia. I’m not terrible, but I’m not good – just… average. Which I can’t stand.

I also wonder about the ROI on videogames from a personal standpoint. They cost money. What do I get out of it? A few hours of play? Why not just read a book for free from the library? Why not go running? What can I get from playing a videogame, besides potential personal satisfaction?

It’s not that I don’t believe videogames can offer great things for people who play it – I’m sure any communication medium, like television, music, or the arts, have the ability to offer whatever you’re looking for. After reading reviews of the game “Braid” I’m certain that it’s an intelligent, well-thought out, allegorical game. For all I know, it could be the “Faerie Queene” of the videogame world. But for me, the world’s laziest videogame player, how do I get “into” it? Effectively, how do I get over myself to want to engage with something I was always told would rot my brain?

And so you may be wondering: why this class? Because I love thinking about design and how it connects with people. This is why I find urban planning and thinking about applying its theories to other fields so fascinating. I want to know how videogames can help us learn about other realms of knowledge. And as a former first-grade teacher, I employed game-like activities to encourage my kids to find their work relevant to their lives in Spanish Harlem. I want to see how this works. It’s like George Michael says, I gotta have FAITH.

Okay, dance party time.

