So two years back, there was this report about this South Korean couple that let their real life child die while they “raised” a virtual child in a videogame. It wasn’t the first time I’d heard about the addicting nature of videogames — in one my creative writing classes at Cal, one of my friends wrote a really funny story about his addiction to World of Warcraft. How he would stay in his room and play for days straight. He almost dropped out of community college, lost his girlfriend, and didn’t interact with his parents. It was funny, and self-deprecating, and I didn’t really think much about it after a while. But when I heard about the Korean couple, it struck me as really crazy how addictive behavior can manifest themselves in so many mediums.

Here’s an article about an English professor that basically lost his life to World of Warcraft for a few years. Which brings me to…. how enticing is that virtual world? How well does it provide as a coping mechanism for tough times? When we talk about knowledge transfer, do we really want to perform the act? It’s difficult, right, to bring power and wealth from a virtual world to your real life. Same with game-specific intelligence and perspective. How do we make real life more appealing and the ultimate reality to return to?

