I loved kindergarten. I mean, who doesn’t? I had two years of kindergarten and it was awesome. No, it’s not because I failed kindergarten, it’s because I had a late birthday, so I just had two years of kindergarten, one at a public school and one at a private school. Apparently my mom just decided to get me out of the house for an extra year. Not that I’m complaining, Kindergarten was the best! So as I was reading Resnick’s article I thought his approach to be interesting, and I have to say I’m a fan of the idea.

Kindergarten is not structured, the children have certain amount of freedom in their learning. They learn to become more creative and foster their imaginations. Resnick has the idea that the kindergarten process of learning should be applied to other areas of life as well. This made me recall the discussion we had a couple weeks ago concerning Montessori education. While Montessori classrooms are not exactly the same as kindergarten, there are some similarities. Students in Montessori schools are not accustomed to the structure and planned layout of traditional school classrooms.

Tonight I was driving a fellow UMich student back to Ann Arbor from the West Side of the state. I had never met her before, but she needed a ride, and so we just talked about life during the drive. She had gone to a Montessori school in Grand Haven from pre-school to eighth grade. She said that she hated public school. When she when to a public high school she just couldn’t get used to it. She said she’d never had to sit at a desk until she went to public school. I can’t imagine going to school and not sitting at a desk.

I just find different ways of learning to be interesting, and the fact that what we are raised with when it comes to our education is what we become accustomed to. This girl was used to the Montessori way of learning, and couldn’t understand the appeal (for lack of a better word) of traditional schools. I’m used to traditional education, and don’t really see anything wrong with it. I mean, it does have it’s problems, but what doesn’t? I also don’t see anything wrong with Montessori education, it’s just different — which makes it interesting and intriguing to me.

